Skip to main content Help with accessibility Skip to main navigation

Cheshire East and Cheshire West place directors confirmed

Following a thorough recruitment process, both Cheshire East and Cheshire West have announced the appointment of their first place directors, Mark Wilkinson (Cheshire East) and Delyth Curtis (Cheshire West).

Working closely with local partners, Mark, currently Director of Strategic Asset Management at Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board, and Delyth, Deputy Chief Executive at Cheshire West and Chester Council, will both play a central role in the future integration of health and care - taking a lead on tackling health inequalities within our communities.

Mark and Delyth are two of nine place directors who have been appointed across Cheshire and Merseyside and who will take up their posts on 1 July 2022, when NHS Cheshire and Merseyside Integrated Care Board (ICB) is established. In the meantime, both Mark and Delyth will become involved with the ICB from early April so they can contribute to the further design of the integration agenda.

There was a robust, inclusive process and the selection panel for each post included the ICB Designate Chief Executive, a non-executive director, a place-specific elected member or members, the relevant local authority Chief Executive, and representatives of both primary care and NHS providers.

Graham Urwin, Designate Chief Executive of NHS Cheshire and Merseyside Integrated Care Board, said: "I am really excited we have put together an excellent team of people to carry out the pivotal role of place director throughout our Integrated Care System. They all have relevant experience and skills, and comprise a complementary team who will work together and alongside NHS Cheshire and Merseyside ICB and the wider Cheshire and Merseyside Health and Care Partnership.

"As well as delivering on effective integration, they will also address the very real health inequalities our communities experience – a primary objective of the ICB and all our partners.

"I would like to personally congratulate all the successful candidates and wish them every success."